Thursday, November 17, 2016

Winner of Lynnette Bonner's entire Sonnets of the Spice Isle series IS:


Thanks to all who entered!  Lynnette has promised to send you all an ecopy of the first book in the series, so I hope you left your email address in the comments last week so she can do that!. I guarantee you're going to love this story!

Stone Town, Zanzibar, Early 1866

On the Wings of a Whisper: A serialized historical Christian romance. (Sonnets of the Spice Isle Book 1)RyAnne Hunter is determined to stop her father from leaving for the continent of Africa, where he plans to start a mission station. And she only has until morning. Tonight at the Harcourts' Annual Ball will be her last chance to change his mind. She must succeed! Papa's health, and her future, depend on her success. But, as if her task isn't difficult enough, now the insufferable Captain Dawson has agreed to guide Papa's expedition!

After spending six months at sea, Captain Trent Dawson only wants to think about rest and relaxation. However, when he's recruited by a British naval officer to help put an end to a slave smuggling ring, the perfect opportunity presents itself in Dr. Hunter, who needs a guide to the Interior. Now if he can just help the doctor without spending too much time with the man's troublesome and flighty youngest daughter.

My Review.

What a pleasant surprise! On the Wings of a Whisper is one of those rare books that kept me up late at night. It has everything I love in a story: a dashing hero, romance, intrigue, high-seas adventure, not to mention excellent characters and a riveting plot. Rarely have I been so caught up in a story. I can't wait for the next installment!

The Sonnets of Spice Isle is a serialized story. What that means is that each book is sort of like a TV episode. It introduces you to a storyline and characters but only presents you with one or two major events. At the end, there's usually a cliffhanger that makes you want to watch the next show. At the time I read this first episode, Lynnette had not published the other 5 episodes, but they are available now and have been getting rave reviews!!

These stories are right up my alley: Adventure, romance, exotic locations, difficult, emotional topics, yet all with a Godly moral and a happy ending.  If you like my books, you're going to love these.

Here's a tiny bit about the rest of the books in the series.

Lay Down your Heart

 The second installment in Sonnets of the Spice Isle is just as exciting and beautifully descriptive as the first -- from the beauty, spicy scents, and serenades of cicadas in exotic Africa -- to the danger of crocs, snakes, and spider infested grasslands!   Diana Flowers, Reviewer

Made Perfect in Weakness

In this third release in the Sonnets of the Spice Isles series, the story continues into the Dark Continent. Our plucky heroine now faces some of her most frightening challenges yet. Slavers decimate villages, animal predators lurk in the tall grass, illness threatens the very reason for her journey, and in the midst of it all, a touch of hope, a chance for romance, if they survive the other challenges. Author Lynnette Bonner again artfully pulls the reader into this wonderful story with an engrossing plot, engaging characters, and mesmerizing descriptions of a magical continent. I highly recommend, Made Perfect in Weakness, and look forward to additional editions to this delightful series.  Reviewer, Cecelia Marie Pulliam

A Walk through the Waters

RyAnne is growing into a genuine heroine as the pages turn, making her into a fit companion for a hero like Trent. But will they even survive this epic adventure and be given a chance to realize their true feelings for one another? I love the way the author weaves a spiritual message into the story. Can't wait for the next one!  Reviewer, Diane Adams

The Trail of Chains

The tragedy that strikes RyAnne and Trent is truly awful. The way RyAnne protects Moyo is wonderful. Trent is a special man the struggles he suffers trying to find RyAnne is truly hard for him. You will feel God working throughout this whole book. The author will have you on the edge of your seat waiting to see what happens next. This book deserves a higher rating than a five star review.  Debbie, Jamieson, Reviewer

 The Joy of the Morning

What a wonderful ending to this series. Captain Dawson and RyAnne certainly know how to have adventures you'd never dream of. Ms Bonner did such a great job on this series. The characters are great and it's easy to picture yourself in Africa as you hear the roar of the lions and walk through the tall grasses. The sixth episode of the Spice Isles pulled the other five episodes together very well.  June, Reviewer

Born and raised in Malawi, Africa. Lynnette Bonner spent the first years of her life reveling in warm equatorial sunshine and the late evening duets of cicadas and hyenas. The year she turned eight she was off to Rift Valley Academy, a boarding school in Kenya where she spent many joy-filled years, and graduated in 1990.

That fall, she traded to a new duet—one of traffic and rain—when she moved to Kirkland, Washington to attend Northwest University. It was there that she met her husband and a few years later they moved to the small town of Pierce, Idaho.

During the time they lived in Idaho, while studying the history of their little town, Lynnette was inspired to begin the Shepherd’s Heart Series with Rocky Mountain Oasis.

Marty and Lynnette have four children, and currently live in Washington where Marty pastors a church.


Learn more about Lynnette
Lynnette's Website

1 comment:

  1. I think this is an informative post and it is very useful and knowledgeable. therefore, I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this article.